nedra racers Record Holders Class Rules Hedlund et club land speed racing Jr Dragsters build drag racer Photo Gallery Upcoming Events Past Events NEDRA Handbook Rannberg Award Membership Sponsorship Merchandise media EV Links NPCS


NEDRA's History
NEDRA's Charter
Board Members and Regional Directors
Who We Are - Meet the personalities behind NEDRA
Contacting NEDRA

The National Electric Drag Racing Association (NEDRA) exists to increase public awareness of electric vehicle (EV) performance and to encourage through competition, advances in electric vehicle technology. NEDRA achieves this by organizing and sanctioning safe, silent and exciting electric vehicle drag racing events.

NEDRA is a coalition of drag racing fans, electric drag racing vehicle owners and drivers, individuals interested in promoting the sport of EV drag racing, EV parts suppliers, EV manufacturers and other environmentally concerned companies and individuals. Working together as a group, we put excitement into electric vehicle drag racing.

Shown to the right is the electric Maniac Mazda doing a wheel stand. Leapin' 'lectric vehicles!

NEDRA's History

In March of 1996 after the EVTC and APS sponsored Saturday Night Electric Drags at Firebird International Raceway a small group of ampheads met at a local pizza eatery. They talked of forming an electric drag racing association over a few beers and pizza. In the spring of 1997 ampheads from around the country gathered in the Wilde Evolutions' offices in Jerome Arizona for two days of intense meetings to iron out the bylaws and class divisions. Present were John "Plasma Boy" Wayland from Portland Oregon who became NEDRA's first President, Roderick "Wildman" Wilde who became Vice President, Lou Tauber from Portland Oregon, who became the Secretary/Treasurer, Bill Dube, an engineer from Denver Colorado who became the National Tech Director who wrote all the safety rules, and Dean Grannes and Stephanie Matsumora from Fremont, California who took on the duties of webmaster and membership secretary. Dennis Berube also showed up to give his input. This was the beginning of NEDRA which is still growing today and putting on EV drag racing events around the country. In 1999 Bill Dube and Roderick Wilde lobbied the NHRA to include electric cars and electric motorcycles in NHRA racing. The NHRA had a rule in their book since their formation in 1953 that you must have an internal combustion engine. The new rule allowing electrics was approved and was first published in the 1999 NHRA rulebook. In 2012, NEDRA became an NHRA Alternative Sanction Organization (ASO). The IHRA accepted electrics into their rules. NEDRA also joined the SFI in 2012 to collaborate on safety for electric racing vehicles. NEDRA wrote a first responder document for EV racing that has been adopted by the SFI and FIA for training drag racing professionals.

NEDRA's Charter

We are

  • Drag Racing Fans
  • Electric Drag Racer Owners and Drivers
  • Individuals interested in promoting the sport of Electric Vehicle (EV) Drag Racing
  • EV Parts Suppliers
  • EV Manufacturers
  • and other environmentally concerned companies and individuals

What we do is
  • Coordinate a standard rule set for Electric Vehicle Drag Racing, to balance the needs and interests of all those involved in the sport.
  • Sanction Electric Vehicle Drag Racing events, to:
  • Make the events as safe as possible
  • Record and maintain official records
  • Maintain consistency on a national scale
  • Coordinate and Schedule Electric Vehicle Drag Racing Events
  • Promote Electric Vehicle Drag Racing to:
    • Educate the public and increase their awareness by dispelling the popular misconceptions surrounding EV's.
    • Encourage participation in Electric Vehicle Drag Racing
  • Have fun in a safe and silent drag racing environment.

NEDRA Board Members and Regional Event Directors

  John Metric, president@nedra.com

Executive Vice President
  Lowell Simmons, vicepresident@nedra.com

  Matt Graham, secretary@nedra.com
  Record Keeper - Prod., Conv., Motorcycle and Dragster
    Brian Hall, recordkeeper@nedra.com
  Record Keeper - Jr Dragster
    Peter Sotropa, recordkeeperJR@nedra.com
    Matt Graham(acting), secretary@nedra.com

Communications PR Director
  Raymond Cooper, pr@nedra.com
    George Grant III, webmaster@nedra.com

Membership Director
  Becky Alvarez-Howard, membership@nedra.com

Competition Director
  Roy Lemeur, competition@nedra.com

  Terry Hatfield, chaplain@nedra.com

Technical Director
  John Metric (acting), tech@nedra.com
Technical Director, Junior Dragsters
  Peter Sotropa, recordkeeperjr@nedra.com
Technical Director, Conversion Classes
  Open, conversion@nedra.com
Technical Director, Production Classes
  Ed Fargo, production@nedra.com
Technical Director, Motorcycle Classes
  Frank John, motorcycle@nedra.com
Technical Director, Dragster Classes
  John Metric, dragster@nedra.com

Sales Director
  Tommy Henderson (acting), sales@nedra.com
Marketing Director
  Keith Howard, marketing@nedra.com
Merchandise Director
  Tommy Henderson, merchandise@nedra.com

Regional Event Directors

  Albano Dos Santos, South Africa - south.africa@nedra.com

  Gary Livingston, Ontario - eastern.canada@nedra.com
  Casey Mynott, British Columbia - western.canada@nedra.com

  Oliver Young, Hungerford, UK - uk@nedra.com
  Hans-Henrik Thomsen, Denmark - scandinavia@nedra.com

United States
  Frank John - northeast.us@nedra.com
  Matt Graham, FL - southeast.us@nedra.com
  Allen Thomas, MI - midwest.us@nedra.com
  Tommy Henderson, OK - central.us@nedra.com
  Stella Kostolna, MN - northcentral.us@nedra.com
  Adam Clark, TX - gulfcoast.us@nedra.com
  Stephen Johnsen, WA - northwest.us@nedra.com
  Brian Hall, CA - southwest.us@nedra.com
  KO, CA - nocal@nedra.com Michael Kadie, CA - southern.ca.us@nedra.com

Contacting NEDRA

Feel free to contact us for any further information you may need concerning the National Electric Drag Racing Association. You can email any of our Board Members, listed above.


Home Join NEDRA Contact Us Home Join NEDRA Contact Us